Legal Age to Start Working in Virginia

Virginia has no restrictions on maximum hours of work for minors ages 16 and 17. Sections 40.1 through 103 of the Virginia Code prohibit an employer from endangering the life or health of a child. This means that an employer cannot put you in a situation that could endanger your life, health or morals, or cause you to be overworked, tormented or cruelly treated. Thanks to SB7, a training salary will be allowed from 1 May 2021. During the first 90 days of an employee`s employment, training wages may be paid for participation in in-company training programs. The training wage is 75% of the minimum wage. Older adolescents, although they enjoy greater flexibility and are not subject to the same restrictions, are not allowed to work in hazardous jobs. Young people under the age of 16 “are also excluded from several occupations considered unhealthy, unhealthy or dangerous”, according to the Commonwealth. They must also refrain from dangerous occupations. Hazardous occupations prohibited to all minors under 18 degrees of Virginia § 40.1-100 A • Production or storage of explosives • Manufacture of bricks, bricks or related products • Lumberjack and sawmill products • Electrically operated woodworking machines • Motor saws • Exposure to radioactive substances or • Demolition, demolition, disposal of ionizing radiation • Roof • Motor hoists • Excavation • Motor metal forming machines • Fight against Fire • Mining • Serving alcoholic beverages • Slaughtering, meat packaging • Manufacture of paints, paints or blanks • Lead-engined bakery machines • Motor paper product machines • Preparation and use of hazardous and toxic chemicals 2.

Visit the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry website where the 2 forms required to apply for an employment certificate are available for download. School year • 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. • Not during school hours • You can start delivering newspapers at 4 a.m. • 3 hours per school day • 18 hours per school week • 8 hours per day off • 40 hours for a week off At the federal level, child labor is regulated by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may also be subject to special labor regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break times during work, etc. Teens ages 14 and 15 must obtain a labor certificate (work permit) under Virginia law before they can start working. Restrictions on night work set limits on the time at which a minor can legally work. In a restaurant where mixed drinks are served, no employee working as a waiter may be under 18 years of age. No bartender can be under the age of 21. Employees such as bus boys, cooks and kitchen helpers can be of any age.

(3 ACC 5-50-50) Exceptions to Virginia`s child labor laws Although legally prohibited from most types of employment, individuals under the age of 14 are still eligible for employment in certain areas where the work environment for adolescents and young adolescents is sufficiently safe. Under Virginia`s child labor laws, newspaper delivery locations are acceptable jobs for 12- and 13-year-olds. The State also lifts age restrictions for temporary employment and for work performed in an enterprise owned by the parent company of the minor worker. Other jobs suitable for children under the age of 14 include non-hazardous jobs in agricultural establishments such as farms, gardens and orchards. Regardless of their profession, underage workers can only work outside school hours. While 16- and 17-year-old workers enjoy the freedom of restrictive working hours, Virginia`s child labor laws restrict the types of occupations minors can perform. Even minors over the legal working age are not allowed to acquire activities in manufacturing, logging or sawmilling, mining, roofing, meat packaging and serving alcoholic beverages. State labor laws also prohibit all employees under the age of 18 from operating heavy machinery or being exposed to hazardous substances on the job.

Jobs requiring workers to drive a motor vehicle are available to minors with certain limitations at the age of 17. Virginia Code §40.1-94 states the following as legal proof of age: Only completed forms can be accepted for processing. Faxed documents are not accepted. Original forms must be submitted by U.S. mail. Once completed by the parties involved, send the forms to: Department of Labor & Industry Child Labor Unit 1570 E. Parham Rd.Richmond, VA 23228-2360. No child may be employed until the employment certificate has been issued. Once approved, it is sent directly to the employer. Please allow seven to ten business days. Incomplete forms will cause a delay, so check them before sending them to the mail. For more information and to access the documents required for a work permit, please consult If you`re a teenager in Virginia and planning to get your first job, you need to know the legal age to work in your Commonwealth.

After determining if you are eligible to work, determine how you plan to use your new income. Do you have to pay for school supplies, appointment night, video games, clothing or tuition? Or maybe you`re working because your family needs help with household expenses. In any situation, it is important to know the rules of the workplace. Virginia`s child labor laws are designed to protect the interests of working minors throughout the state, by setting age restrictions and other restrictions on the employment of adolescents. The Ministry of Labour and Industry (DOLI) administers national labour legislation and ensures that employers comply with all legal regulations relating to working age. For most jobs, the minimum age to work in Virginia starts at 14. However, the DOLI allows minors from the age of 12 to work in certain child-friendly jobs. While anyone above the minimum age for admission to employment may be legally employed, workers under the age of 18 must comply with various guidelines prescribed by the State and intended exclusively for minors.

During the school year, youth under the age of 16 can find the necessary documents for their work permit through an administrator in the principal`s office. As soon as they finish school, they teach themselves how to obtain a work permit in the summer. Fourteen- and fifteen-year-olds also face restrictions on the hours available to work. In addition to prohibiting minors from working during school hours, Virginia`s labor laws prohibit employees ages 14 to 15 from working more than 3 hours per school day or 18 hours per school week. The maximum number of working hours increases to 8 per day and 40 per week during the summer and other holiday periods or school closures. In addition, jobs for 14-year-olds and jobs for 15-year-olds in Virginia cannot start before 7:00 a.m. or end after 7:00 p.m. each day. However, between June 1 and Labour Day, workers aged fourteen and fifteen can work until 9:00 p.m.

at the latest. There are no restrictions on working hours for minors over 15 years of age. Employers should follow their own policies regarding vacation pay, as well as sickness, severance and other benefits. Otherwise, employees may be entitled to statutory rights to contractually due benefits. In principle, no child under the age of 14 may work. No child under the age of 16 may be employed during school hours unless he or she has attained the age of 14, is enrolled in a regular vocational training programme and has obtained a vocational training certificate for the child`s employment. No child under the age of 18 may be employed in a hazardous occupation. This also includes working as a driver or assistant on a truck or commercial vehicle with more than two axles. The Virginia Code also declares occupations with motor hoists unsafe. Despite restrictions on working minors, jobs for young people are often easy to find in Virginia.

Bowling alleys, restaurants and public swimming pools are ideal places to work for 14- and 15-year-olds, while older minors often find employment in commercial establishments such as hotels, cinemas and retail outlets. Virginia`s labor laws require job seekers under the age of 16 to obtain a work permit before getting a job. Also known as a work certificate, the work permit includes copies for the employer, the school attended by the working miner and DOLI. Underage jobseekers can find the necessary forms either at a local secondary school or on the DOLI website. After verifying the applicant`s age, DOLI sends the employee`s permit directly to the employer. The first Thanksgiving in North America was in Virginia in 1619. Minors living in Virginia can be grateful for the easy process of getting a job in the state.

You cannot copy content of this page